Blog

Jennifer

Cop Town by Karin Slaughter (2014)

Set in 1974 Atlanta, Cop Town follows rookie police officer Kate Murphy and her partner Maggie Lawson. In this gritty suspense, the women investigate The Shooter—a marksman picking off police officers—despite not being detectives because of their gender. Karin Slaughter's standalone novel is not for the faint of heart, featuring derogatory language and violence (along with racism, sexism, and homophobia). With flawed yet sympathetic main characters and a compelling story, you'll keep reading to solve the case alongside Kate and Maggie.

The novel won the 2015 Ian Fleming Steel Award from the British Crime Writers' Association.



Lora

Before She Knew Him by Peter Swanson (2019)

Artist Henrietta "Hen" Mazur is convinced her next-door neighbor Matthew Dolamore is a killer. While at Matthew's home for dinner one night, Hen sees a fencing trophy that she believes belonged to murder victim Dustin Miller, who lived down the street from Hen when she lived in Cambridge. Hen isn't sure what to do because she has bipolar disorder and is doing well now, but while in college she had an episode and was arrested for attacking another student because Hen believed the student was a murderer. Hen feels the police won't believe her now, but when Hen begins to follow Matthew, she becomes a witness to his violence and her and Matthew's lives become forever intertwined.

I always look forward to a new Peter Swanson novel and this one doesn't disappoint. Before She Knew Him is a page-turner in the style of Alfred Hitchcock.



Kathy

My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite (2018)

Oyinkan Braithwaite's debut novel is a classic tale of sibling rivalry with a dark twist—one of the sisters happens to be a serial killer. In its darkly humorous telling, this book explores universal questions about the relationship between two sisters and how their lives intertwine in ways that can never be undone. My Sister, the Serial Killer is a character study, a love story, and a family drama all rolled into one. Oh, and given that one of the sisters can't seem to avoid murdering any man that shows interest in her, it's also a bit of a crime drama too.

This is a book about love and loyalty that asks the question: How do you choose between doing the right thing and doing what you know to be right?



Lora

No Exit by Taylor Adams (2019)

College student Darby is heading home to Utah for Christmas to see her dying mother when she's caught in a blizzard. Forced to get off the road by the bad weather, she ends up at a rest stop thinking she can wait out the storm and then be back on the highway. When she sees a girl locked in a cage in one of the other cars at the rest stop, she wonders which of the other four people trapped there are responsible. Soon, Darby finds herself fighting for both her life and the girl's in order to see justice done.

No Exit by Taylor Adams is a white-knuckled thriller that's hard to put down, but it's not for the squeamish. Try this novel if you enjoyed Harlan Coben books or Greg Iles' 24 Hours.



Hugh

The Fifth Vial by Michael Palmer (2007)

311980A secret society, guided by the teachings of Plato-ordained guardians, administers organ transfers in Michael Palmer’s The Fifth Vial. Unfortunately, there are more patients in need than supply to fulfill and matches are difficult to find, thus the guardians must take hard steps to provide adequate supply. A medical student, a physician in need of an organ transfer, and a private investigator all find themselves strongly affected by the activities of this arrogant society. The reader can follow the action throughout the world and may be surprised and disappointed by the outcome.
Hugh

The Rooster Bar by John Grisham (2017)

roosterbarThree third-year law students at a for-profit law school are discouraged that only about half its graduates pass the bar and even fewer find jobs. After a bipolar friend commits suicide, the three lose any motivation to finish their studies and hang around the courts and hospitals trying to find clients to help. Yes, they accept fees and represent themselves as practicing lawyers, so the misadventures begin. Can John Grisham possibly find a soft landing for these three? Read The Rooster Bar to find out.
Elizabeth

The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn (2018)

womaninthewindowIf you enjoy classic Alfred Hitchcock thrillers, you will surely love this debut novel by A. J. Finn. Dr. Anna Fox, a former child psychologist, suffers from agoraphobia. She never leaves her house, nor does she ever open any windows. Nevertheless, she is quite a busy woman. She spends her time watching classic movies, drinking much merlot, and self-medicating with pills.

One of her favorite pastimes is spying on her neighbors. One day, as she is spying, Anna witnesses something horrible. The only problem? She cannot find a soul who believes her. The Woman in the Window is filled with twists and turns, and will keep readers entertained from beginning to end.
Denise

Saving Sophie by Ronald H. Balson (2015)

savingsophieRonald Balson has written a complex, captivating story with great characterizations. Saving Sophie is a suspense/thriller infused with rich historical details and insights into the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. It takes you on a journey from Chicago to Hawaii to Israel, as Jack Sommers goes to any lengths to rescue his daughter. He is joined by an investigative team whose mission is not only to rescue Sophie, but to thwart a major terrorist attack in Hebron. There are many twists and turns to keep you interested. I found it not only entertaining, but also informative. At times it reminded me of I Am Pilgrim (another book I really enjoyed).
Hugh

The Midnight Line by Lee Child (2017)

midnightlineRetired army officer Jack Reacher has not settled down after leaving the service. He travels light, buying new when the old becomes worn and never stays long in one place. He finds a West Point ring in a pawnshop and begins a journey through the Midwest to Wyoming hoping to find the owner and hear her story. Along the way, Jack meets the owner’s twin sister and the detective she has hired to find her twin. They encounter many obstacles including those raised by illegal drugs, but Jack is tough and the honor of a fellow officer is at stake so there is no thought of giving up even when the way is filled with danger.

Check out The Midnight Line for Lee Child’s latest adventure starring Jack Reacher.
Lora

Need to Know by Karen Cleveland (2018)

needtoknowVivian works for the CIA as a counterintelligence analyst focusing on Russia, trying to uncover their spies in the United States. One day, while doing her work, she finds information that hits close to home and leads her to question the last ten years of her life. Not really knowing who she can trust or turn to puts her on edge, especially when her children's lives are threatened. Karen Cleveland’s Need to Know is a fast-paced tale for readers who enjoyed Chris Pavone's The Expats and the television show The Americans. It's also the perfect book for your summer beach bag.
Nancy R.

After Anna by Lisa Scottoline (2018)

afterannaLisa Scottoline’s latest novel is a fast-paced family drama with numerous twists and turns. Noah and Maggie, both in second marriages, are confronted with lies, manipulation, and guilt. I never expected the ending! Check out After Anna today.
Mary P.

The Flight Attendant by Chris Bohjalian (2018)

flightattendantA self-destructive alcoholic, Cassie Bowen is a mess who binge drinks until she blacks out. After a flirty flight to Dubai, she joins an American businessman for a private party in his hotel room. When she wakes up, he is dead and she is covered in blood. What happened?

Cassie panics and lies—to her airline and the FBI. And just when you think she’s hit rock bottom, Cassie finds a way to make it worse. Full of twists and turns, The Flight Attendant is a fascinating story that’s even more suspenseful than The Girl on the Train. Check out Chris Bohjalian’s latest gripping, thought-provoking read today.

Want more psychological suspense? Check out our list of recommended reads.
IPPL Staff

The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn (2018)

womaninthewindowA suspense-filled, attention-grabbing story that kept me riveted from beginning to end. I couldn’t wait to get back to The Woman in the Window when I wasn’t listening to it on CD. Check out A. J. Finn’s debut novel today if you enjoy psychological suspense or Hitchcock films. For similar novels, check out our list.
Lora

The Other Side of Everything by Lauren Doyle Owens (2018)

When a few female senior citizens are murdered in their homes, the neighborhood that the victims resided in goes on high alert. Octogenarian Bernard and his friends decide to take action and make sure that the older single women are not alone by having a single man in the group move in with them until the perpetrator is caught. Amy, an artist in her 30s, begins to create paintings about the crimes. Another neighbor, teenager Maddie is home alone a lot with her younger brother since her mother abandoned the family. Maddie also has doubts that the man the police are targeting is guilty since she knows him as a customer at the restaurant where she works as a waitress.

In The Other Side of Everything, Lauren Doyle Owens explores the aftereffects of a series of crimes through these three characters and their intersecting lives. As suggested by the publisher on the flyleaf of the book, Owens’ debut is for readers who like Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman's standalone novels. Also, if you enjoy this book, try the wonderful, yet not well known The Long and Faraway Gone by Louis Berney.
Lora

Killer Choice by Tom Hunt (2018)

killerchoiceWhat would you do to protect the one you love? When Gary Foster finds out his pregnant wife Beth is diagnosed with a brain tumor and that a clinical trial in Germany might help her, he feels powerless, because there is no way they can afford the $200,000 cost. When a local criminal anonymously approaches Gary, offering to give him the money if Gary kills someone for him, Gary agrees--but complications arise both with the deal and in his personal life.

In Killer Choice, Tom Hunt has written a fast-paced read that's hard to put down, as long as you can buy into the premise. Great for readers of Harlan Coben, Linwood Barclay, and David Rosenfelt's standalone novels.